Skip to content

So, one day, I decided to be happy. (6)

22/06/2013

image
.
.
So, I found happiness in a dead pigeon…

It could have been something more romantic that this bad looking half rotten bird lying in the gutter, I suppose that I was just ready for a change, unknowingly waiting for the pivotal shock that would change the way my world was spinning, from the vicious to the virtuous circle. I had finally digested the nihilist initial stupor, necessary condition to move on beyond the cold philosophical empty sky truth…

What did the dead bird told me?

The dead pigeon told me that, to a very large extend, I create the world I live in. Instead of walking with my head high, open to the world, I was closed, looking at the ground. in return, I received the dead bird instead of he Spring sun. More, I had not been in this dark mood, I might have seen the dead pigeon, but without noticing it. It was not sucu an ugly sight that anyone would stop and end up traumatized, it was not a dead person or a dead puppy! I let the pigeon strike my consciousness, ruin my day and the following night.

Creating the world. Nothing magic there, the world is what it is, external, multiple and chaotic. But we create our vision of this world, like a cameraman or a photographer. Where we turn our eyes, what we focus on, how long, all this defines our personal world. Everything is out there, the best and the worst, it’s basically up to us to choose what we fill our perception with.

It’s quite obvious… It was not for me. In the constant foggy storm of our feelings, lucidity is not the normal state of mind. I realized that day that it was up to me to change my world. Waiting would not bring the change, I had to be proactive. Change yourself, change the world.

That day I decided that I had enough with sadness.
I decided to be happy.

I realized that it was in my power. Not only did I understand how much I was creating my reality by the way I was looking at the world, but also I had the intuition of something more. The dead pigeon brought to light the whole sadness vicious circle process, by logical deduction it told me that the opposite should work as well.

Sadness brings sadness, happiness brings happiness. There are two aspects. The first trick is to deliberately focus on the “bright side of life”. This is the hard part, a daily exercise, at first a conscious effort, which gets easier with the time, like any positive habit you want to acquire. The second aspect is the greatest part of this road to happiness story: the world has a very strong tendency to send back what you project. Bring sadness to the world, you’ll most likely get it back in return, bring happiness to the world…

I am glad to have finally reached the turning point of this happiness series. Time to turn our eyes away from the dead birds and look up at the sunny spring days. Next posts will be about the various tools, tricks and inspirations that helped me in my process toward happiness.

One day, I decided to be happy. I succeeded, but it did not happen in this one day. I had to work for it…

From → Happiness

2 Comments
  1. Have you known people who, if they didn’t have bad luck, wouldn’t have any luck at all? They seem to drift from one minor disaster to another. They are living out their own expectations for life. My fortune has allowed me to escape from events that had the potential for disaster, but whose results were merely inconvenient. I attribute this to an optimism that allows me to write a more hopeful script for my life.

  2. Thank you for reading and taking time to write a comment Marie.
    Unfortinately there is no magic or miracle in my story. I really think that you can have a great impact on your own life, but nothing like a total control… I don’t know how my philosophy of happiness would stand in front of the worst life disasters. But surely being optimistic optimizes your chances and I hope I’d be able to find some spark of joy even facing the toughest hardship. At least I know that I would try.
    On a lighter note, I have met some unlucky people. Mainly one guy. Being a very rational mind, I used to refuse the idea of anything like bad luck… But I met this guy, and he was really attracting bad luck. I ignore how it started, but he was clearly caught in a bad luck vicious circle, so convinced himself about his bad luck that is was making it a reality with a stupefying efficiency. His example motivated me on the opposite way, thus I consistently tell myself and others how lucky I am…

Leave a Reply

ultimatemindsettoday

A great WordPress.com site

L'Inlassable Globe-Trotteuse

Carnet d'une infatigable et insatiable voyageuse

Travel Oops

Travel humor and a celebration of travel missteps, mishaps and misadventures

#blinksofbliss

Life is made up of little moments of bliss which go by in a blink.

The Happy Guide

Happiness blueprint

nisha kumar kulkarni

the original digital homestead

Glamourous Traveller

Stylish travelling for all

Lost in Wanderlust

Just a girl wandering the world.

INTERLUDE

Atelier d'écriture en philosophie animé par Jean-Paul Galibert

Dave's Photo Musings

Thoughts and images from an ageing engineer and photographer

ALWAYS WRITE

at home and abroad, new bloggers, writers, photographers experiment with me - enthusiastic - persistent - encouraging

Michael Lewis Glover | Fine Art Photography

Architectural, HDR, Nature, & Landscape Photography

poemsandproses

A fine WordPress.com site

Silent Wonderland

Silence can be heard only by capturing a moment..

myfriskymoments

Some frisky thoughts..some Frisky moments of my life...be it be Photography...Singing...quilling...dancing..cooking.....n lot more...

Meticulous Mick

Naturally Curious

Simplify...

And Add Lightness

Sunshine Scrapbook

Celebrating all things bright, beautiful, sweet and fluffy

BARREN TO BLESSED

a little bit of hope, joy, love, grace, life and all things in between infertility

Darkroomstory

Photography by Manos,

secondhalfwoman

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Violemment Humaine

CDI cherche fin du tunnel

